Traffic Citation Information
Georgia Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act has a zero tolerance
for alcohol usage by juvenile drivers. Under this act, anyone under
21 years of age is guilty of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol if
their blood alcohol level is .02 grams or more.
For those 21 and
older, the threshold remains at .08 grams. The new law also limits
driving by youths between 16 and 18 years of age if they are newly
licensed. There are restrictions on the hours they may drive and/or
the number of passengers they may carry. For more information, go to
Department of Driver Services web site.
METRA Parking Tickets
If you have been issued a citation from METRA for parking violations, you can now pay your ticket online. Click the link below, to pay your citation online:
If you DO NOT wish to pay your parking citation online, click here to find alternative ways to pay your ticket.
Pay Your Traffic Citation
If you DO NOT
wish to appear in court to contest the citation, you may post a cash bond
with Recorder's Court. This will be considered a guilty plea and the
cash bond will be considered a fine. Accordingly, your driving
history will reflect the offense(s) with which you were charged. You
can post a bond Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and
4:30 P.M. (except legal holidays) at the following address:
702 10th Street
Columbus, Georgia 31901
be posted no later than one day before the hearing date listed on the
citation. BONDS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED
ON YOUR SCHEDULED HEARING DAY, NOR CAN YOU POST BOND ON A WEEKEND OR HOLIDAY.
Therefore, if your hearing scheduled for a Monday, you must post bond no
later than 4:30 P.M. on the preceding Friday. If your hearing
is scheduled on the day after a legal holiday, you must post bond no later
than 4:30 P.M. on the last business day before that legal holiday.
convenience, bonds may also be mailed but must be postmarked at least
three (3) days before the scheduled hearing. Only money orders or
cashier's checks ,paid to the order of Record's Court, are accepted by mail. If you are unsure of the amount of your fine, you can contact Recorder's Court at
(706) 653-4256 to determine the amount of the fine. Police officers
are not allowed to quote the bond amount. If you wish to post bond
through the mail, send it to the following address:
702 10th Street
Columbus, Georgia 31901
Going to Court
You may contest
the charges on your citation by appearing in Recorder's Court on the day and
time listed on the citation. If you fail to appear in Court to
answer the charges and you have not posted a cash bond, you will be in
CONTEMPT OF COURT
and you will be assessed additional fees. The
court may forward ticket information to the Department of Public Safety,
which may result in the suspension of your driver's license.
citation is issued, the officer is not allowed to change it. Only the
Court may change it. The Court will change the appearance date only
if you provide a valid reason that is satisfactory to the Court. THE
JUDGES WILL NOT DISCUSS YOUR CASE WITH YOU BEFORE COURT. Neither can
a police officer advise you on how you should handle your case in court.
If you need assistance in this area, please contact an attorney.
Recorder's Court, your name will be called and both you and the police
officer will be allowed to approach the bench and tell the judge "your
side of the story." You should bring any evidence or witnesses with
you at this time. If you feel you need an attorney, he or she could
be contacted prior to the court date so his/her schedule can be adjusted
in order to appear with you.
Georgia law allows a person who is charged with a traffic offense to reduce his/her fine, by up to 20%, by taking a driver improvement course, provided the course is completed prior to the Court appearance. In addition, no points
would be assessed on the offender's license. A person may only use
this provision of the law once every five years.
violations may be reduced if you produce proper proof of insurance.
However, the law does not allow for an outright dismissal.
There is a
dress code in Recorder's Court. No shorts, cut-offs, halter-tops, hats or
flip-flops of any kind are allowed. In addition, shoes and shirts
are required. Casual or business dress is suggested. Also, no
weapons, cellular phones or pagers are allowed in the courtroom.
If you have
any questions, contact Recorder's Court at (706) 653-4256.