Columbus, Georgia                    
Link to Chief of Police
Link to Internal Affairs
Link to Investigative Services
Link to Patrol Services
Link to Administrative Services
Link to Support Services
Link to Crime Stoppers
Link to Community Awareness
Open Records
Link to Frequently Asked Questions
Link to Contact Information
Directions to Public Safety
Links
 
 

Traffic Citation Information

The Georgia Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act has a zero tolerance for alcohol usage by juvenile drivers.  Under this act, anyone under 21 years of age is guilty of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol if their blood alcohol level is .02 grams or more. 

For those 21 and older, the threshold remains at .08 grams.  The new law also limits driving by youths between 16 and 18 years of age if they are newly licensed.  There are restrictions on the hours they may drive and/or the number of passengers they may carry.  For more information, go to the
Georgia Department of Driver Services web site.

METRA Parking Tickets

If you have been issued a citation from METRA for parking violations, you can now pay your ticket online. Click the link below, to pay your citation online:

If you DO NOT wish to pay your parking citation online, click here to find alternative ways to pay your ticket.

Pay Your Traffic Citation

If you DO NOT wish to appear in court to contest the citation, you may post a cash bond with Recorder's Court.  This will be considered a guilty plea and the cash bond will be considered a fine.  Accordingly, your driving history will reflect the offense(s) with which you were charged.  You can post a bond Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 4:30 P.M. (except legal holidays) at the following address:

702 10th Street
Columbus, Georgia 31901

Bonds must be posted no later than one day before the hearing date listed on the citation.  BONDS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED ON YOUR SCHEDULED HEARING DAY, NOR CAN YOU POST BOND ON A WEEKEND OR HOLIDAY.  Therefore, if your hearing scheduled for a Monday, you must post bond no later than 4:30 P.M.  on the preceding Friday.  If your hearing is scheduled on the day after a legal holiday, you must post bond no later than 4:30 P.M. on the last business day before that legal holiday.

For your convenience, bonds may also be mailed but must be postmarked at least three (3) days before the scheduled hearing.  Only money orders or cashier's checks ,paid to the order of Record's Court, are accepted by mail.  If you are unsure of the amount of your fine, you can contact Recorder's Court at (706) 653-4256 to determine the amount of the fine.  Police officers are not allowed to quote the bond amount.  If you wish to post bond through the mail, send it to the following address:

Recorder's Court
702 10th Street
Columbus, Georgia 31901

Going to Court

You may contest the charges on your citation by appearing in Recorder's Court on the day and time listed on the citation.  If you fail to appear in Court to answer the charges and you have not posted a cash bond, you will be in CONTEMPT OF COURT and you will be assessed additional fees.  The court may forward ticket information to the Department of Public Safety, which may result in the suspension of your driver's license.

Once the citation is issued, the officer is not allowed to change it. Only the Court may change it.  The Court will change the appearance date only if you provide a valid reason that is satisfactory to the Court.  THE JUDGES WILL NOT DISCUSS YOUR CASE WITH YOU BEFORE COURT.  Neither can a police officer advise you on how you should handle your case in court.  If you need assistance in this area, please contact an attorney.

In Recorder's Court, your name will be called and both you and the police officer will be allowed to approach the bench and tell the judge "your side of the story."  You should bring any evidence or witnesses with you at this time.  If you feel you need an attorney, he or she could be contacted prior to the court date so his/her schedule can be adjusted in order to appear with you.

Georgia law allows a person who is charged with a traffic offense to reduce his/her fine, by up to 20%, by taking a driver improvement course, provided the course is completed prior to the Court appearance.  In addition, no points would be assessed on the offender's license.  A person may only use this provision of the law once every five years.

Insurance violations may be reduced if you produce proper proof of insurance.  However, the law does not allow for an outright dismissal.

There is a dress code in Recorder's Court.  No shorts, cut-offs, halter-tops, hats or flip-flops of any kind are allowed.  In addition, shoes and shirts are required.  Casual or business dress is suggested.  Also, no weapons, cellular phones or pagers are allowed in the courtroom.

If you have any questions, contact Recorder's Court at (706) 653-4256.